• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Wildcat

Wildcat

Bringer of Chatter

• Forum User
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Interests:Steampunk, Neo-Victorian, Dieselpunk, Gothic Lolita, Visual Kei, Kigurumi, Cosplay.
  • State:SA

Posted 01 February 2007 - 10:08 AM

Hi

I'm attempting to make a white Lolita petticoat with lots of “poof” (similar to the one below made by Metanoia).

I am trying to gather (thick) tulle, but the thread keeps breaking. *Curses at the tulle and waves angry fist in the air* mad.gif

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. wacko.gif

#2 Silver Moonblaze

Silver Moonblaze

Webmaster

• Webmaster
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 866 posts

Posted 01 February 2007 - 10:12 AM

I've never worked with tulle before, but I'm guessing you're doing it by hand?

The only thing I could suggest is using a thicker thread - a nice thick linen thread, or something along those lines.

And doing it really, really slowly. I found that helps when I cartridge pleat stuff.

#3 Wildcat

Wildcat

Bringer of Chatter

• Forum User
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Interests:Steampunk, Neo-Victorian, Dieselpunk, Gothic Lolita, Visual Kei, Kigurumi, Cosplay.

Posted 01 February 2007 - 10:24 AM

QUOTE(Silver Moonblaze @ Feb 1 2007, 10:12 AM) View Post
I've never worked with tulle before, but I'm guessing you're doing it by hand?

I'm sewing it by sewing machine (using a long stitch), then pulling on one of the threads (gathering by hand).

QUOTE(Silver Moonblaze @ Feb 1 2007, 10:12 AM) View Post
The only thing I could suggest is using a thicker thread - a nice thick linen thread, or something along those lines.

Linen thread might be stronger than the cotton thread I'm using at the moment. *plans to buy some linen thread*

#4 Silver Moonblaze

Silver Moonblaze

Webmaster

• Webmaster
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 866 posts

Posted 01 February 2007 - 10:28 AM

I've never tried using the linen thread in a machine, someone else may know if that works well?